Malaysia Confirms White Rabbit Candy Is Non-Halal, Contains Pig & Cow DNA

UPDATE (13 Sep, 7.03pm): MUIS confirmed that White Rabbit Candy “has not been halal-certified”.

In March, we reported that Brunei halted imports of White Rabbit candy after their Halal Food Control Division found that it had traces of pork protein.

On Wednesday (12 Sep), The Rakyat Post reported that Malaysia followed in Brunei’s footsteps and declared that the candy was not halal.

Source

The country’s National Chemistry Department found that it had traces of pork and cow DNA.

White Rabbit candy is not halal

While the creamy milk candy reminds us of our childhood days, Sarawak Islamic Religious Department (JAIS) announced that the sweet treat would be halal-tested in May.

Source

Despite the candy’s popularity in South East Asia, the Chinese brand never applied for halal certification. Rumours of its non-halal substances also went viral online.

Source

We might’ve had our fingers crossed while hoping this gossip was false. Sadly, reality can be a bitter pill to swallow.

According to The Rakyat Post, Deputy Minister Fuziah Salleh confirmed that White Rabbit candy contains pig and cow DNA.

What can we do now?

According to Islam Question & Answer, as quoted by Rakyat Post too, this is what they said on the topic “How to cleanse oneself of pig-related impurity.”

There is no sin on you for eating pig meat without intending to, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

They continued sharing a verse from [al-Ahzaab 33:5].

And there is no sin on you concerning that in which you made a mistake, except in regard to what your hearts deliberately intend. And Allaah is Ever Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.

You can check out the full post here for the detailed answer.

So if you’re Muslim and may have consumed the non-halal candy unknowingly, it should be all right. Just don’t go eating it again now that you’ve been warned.

Will Singapore follow Malaysia & Brunei?

We’ve reached out to the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (MUIS) for confirmation of the candy’s halal status here, so stay tuned for updates.

In the meantime, Singaporean Muslims may have to consider removing White Rabbit candies from their diet.

What do you think of Malaysia and Brunei’s declaration of the candy’s halal status? Let us know in the comments below.

Featured image from Instagram and Instagram.