S’pore On 3 More Territories’ Travel Advisories Like India & Iraq As Covid-19 Situation Worsens Worldwide

Singapore On More Territories’ Travel Advisories Including Iraq & India

The Covid-19 outbreak has prompted countries to restrict trips to Singapore.

10 Territories Like Taiwan & South Korea Advise Against S’pore Travel, Visitors May Undergo Stricter Screening

As of Wednesday, (26 Feb), more places have introduced such travel restrictions, bringing the total number to 13.


The list of territories includes:

  • Denmark
  • Indonesia
  • India
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Kuwait
  • North Korea
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Qatar
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • UK

The advisories vary across the 13 locations, so read on to find out about the newcomers to the growing list.

More countries issue travel advisories to travellers from Singapore

After more cases of local transmission, several countries have advised residents about travel to and from Singapore.

On Wednesday (26 Feb), Denmark advised travellers to remain vigilant in Singapore in light of the Covid-19 outbreak.

Earlier on, India advised citizens to avoid non-essential travel here while Thailand and South Korea urged citizens to delay any travels to Singapore. Similarly, Taiwan issued a level 2 “alert” for those travelling to Singapore and advised them to take enhanced precautions.


People who cannot avoid coming to Singapore should protect themselves and monitor their health once they return.

Despite having no confirmed case of Covid-19, Indonesia has also barred 2 Singaporeans from entering their country due to their recent travels to China.

2 S’poreans Among 118 Foreigners Banned From Entering Indonesia To Prevent Covid-19 Spread

Updated quarantine orders

Israel’s Ministry of Health has expanded home quarantine orders to include people who recently visited Singapore, Thailand, Hong Kong, and Macau.

Meanwhile, the UK advised local travellers to contact the National Health Service if they experience respiratory symptoms that would suggest a Covid-19 infection.

Anyone who has travelled to Singapore, and is experiencing cough or fever or shortness of breath, stay indoors and call NHS 111, even if symptoms are mild.

On 12 Feb, Sarawak announced a self-imposed 14-day home quarantine for Singaporean travellers.

Shortly after, Sarawak’s State Disaster Management committee revised the guidelines and reversed the decision to quarantine travellers instead.


At the moment, Malaysia and Singapore are currently holding a meeting to align health screening protocols.

Countries banning Singaporeans

Several countries have chosen to implement strict measures and issued travel bans amidst the Covid-19 outbreak.

On Tuesday (25 Feb), the Kuwaiti civil aviation authority suspended all flights to and from Singapore and Japan.

North Korea has also banned all foreign tourists in a bid to keep the virus away from the country. Meanwhile, Papua New Guinea has banned all travellers from Asia, including Singapore.

Iraq and Israel recently expanded their travel ban to include travellers from Singapore too.

Restricted travel as Covid-19 cases increase worldwide

As of Monday (24 Feb), WHO confirmed 79,331 cases of Covid-19 worldwide.

While most cases are in mainland China, 2,069 cases have emerged outside China, 91 of which are from Singapore.

1 New Covid-19 Case On 25 Feb, Patient Already Recovered Without Being Hospitalised


Not an ideal situation, but we can all do our part to stop the spread

Just like how Singaporean authorities implemented travel bans for countries and cities hit hard by Covid-19, other countries have also introduced their own travel advisories to keep their residents safe.

While this is surely not an ideal situation, we can do our part to prevent the virus from spreading further by maintaining good hygiene.

Together, we can overcome the Covid-19 outbreak so our lives will go on as per usual.

Featured image adapted from Twitter. 

  • More From Author